Ex-CJI Ranjan Gogoi nominated to RS by the President

The President has nominated the former chief justice, Ranjan Gogoi, to the Rajya Sabha, as per a notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs today

The President of India has, in exercise of the powers granted under Article 80(1)(a) of the Constitution of India, nominated former Chief Justice of India, Sh. Ranjan Gogoi, to the Rajya Sabha. The Ministry of Home Affairs issued a notification to this effect today, i.e. March 16, 2020. Sh. Gogoi was the forty-sixth chief justice of India and held that office from October 3, 2018 to November 17, 2019. 

Article 80(1)(a) vests in the President the power to nominate 12 member to the Council of States, i.e. the Rajya Sabha. Under clause (3) of the said Article 80, the President may nominate “persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of such matters as the following, namely: - Literature, science, art and social service”. 

Notably, Gogoi was part of the infamous press conference in January 2018, in which he, along with 3 other Supreme Court judges, namely, Kurian Joseph, Jasti Chelameswar and Madan Lokur, had raised issues regarding, among others, allocation of cases to Justice Arun Mishra by the then CJI Dipak Misra. He also delivered many landmark judgments during his tenure, including in the Ayodhya dispute. 

Tags assigned to this article:

Around The World